Skip to main content

Texas Today

Tesla Robotaxi Fort Worth Opens Across About 143 Square Miles

Tesla Robotaxi Fort Worth Opens Across About 143 Square Miles
Photo Credit: Unsplash.com

Tesla Robotaxi Fort Worth service launched November 2, 2026, adding another Texas city to the company’s autonomous ride-hailing network. An independent estimate places its operating area at approximately 143 square miles. The launch gives Fort Worth residents access to app-booked rides, although geographic restrictions, pricing details and passenger rules affect availability.

Tesla began offering rides at 6 a.m. Central on Monday, following an announcement through its official Robotaxi account. Fort Worth becomes the company’s fourth Texas market after Austin, Dallas and Houston.

The opening brings another automated transportation service to the Dallas-Fort Worth region. However, Tesla has not confirmed whether passengers can travel between its separate Fort Worth and Dallas operating areas in a single Robotaxi trip.

Key Takeaways

  • Tesla launched Robotaxi service in Fort Worth on November 2, 2026, at 6 a.m. Central
  • Independent estimates place the initial operating area at approximately 143 square miles
  • The service map extends from central Fort Worth toward Saginaw, White Settlement and Benbrook
  • Passengers must use the Robotaxi app to check availability, estimated fares and pickup times
  • Tesla’s initial announcement did not specify Fort Worth’s fleet size or a city-specific fare schedule

Tesla Robotaxi Fort Worth Service Area Reaches Beyond Downtown

Tesla’s published service map covers downtown Fort Worth and portions of the surrounding city. The operating boundary extends north toward Saginaw, west toward White Settlement and southwest toward Benbrook.

Coverage also approaches Haltom City and Forest Hill, although the mapped boundary does not include every street in those communities.

Tesla-focused technology publication Not a Tesla App estimated that the operating area covers approximately 143 square miles. Tesla did not publish an official square-mile measurement in its initial Fort Worth announcement.

The distinction matters because the service operates within a defined geographic boundary rather than providing unrestricted transportation throughout the city.

The map also includes areas surrounding Texas Christian University, according to regional reporting. However, passengers traveling near the service boundary must confirm whether their pickup and destination addresses qualify.

The Fort Worth Report noted that coverage is more limited in parts of east Fort Worth, particularly south of Interstate 30, where the mapped area extends primarily between Interstate 35W and approximately Riverside Drive.

Fort Worth’s opening follows Tesla’s Dallas and Houston expansion earlier in 2026. Those deployments established separate operating areas before the company announced its Fort Worth launch.

Although Dallas and Fort Worth share a metropolitan region, Tesla has not confirmed that passengers can book uninterrupted Robotaxi trips between the two service zones.

Robotaxi Booking, Ride Prices and Vehicle Details Remain Limited

Fort Worth passengers request rides through the Tesla Robotaxi app, available for iOS and Android devices. Customers must sign in using an existing Tesla account or create one before requesting service.

The booking process begins with a destination entered into the app. Tesla then displays an estimated fare and pickup time before the passenger confirms the trip.

Once a vehicle is assigned, the app provides arrival information and identification details. Tesla instructs passengers to verify the vehicle’s license plate, enter the vehicle, fasten their seat belts and select the Start Ride control.

The company’s passenger guidance states that vehicles wait several minutes at designated pickup locations before a booking may be canceled.

Pricing remains another important distinction between the announced service and individual ride availability.

Tesla did not release a Fort Worth-specific fare schedule alongside its launch announcement. Instead, the company directs customers to the estimated price displayed before confirming a ride.

In an independently reported example, the Fort Worth Report described a roughly 15-minute Robotaxi trip from the Near Southside District to downtown. The publication reported that the app initially canceled the booking before showing three $8.98 charges associated with the single ride.

That experience represents one documented trip rather than a confirmed pattern of pricing or billing problems across the service.

Tesla’s broader Robotaxi network includes Model Y and Cybercab vehicles. However, the Fort Worth announcement did not specify the number of vehicles assigned locally or confirm Cybercab availability in the city.

Tesla says vehicle assignments depend on availability and passenger group size. Operating hours may also vary by location, with the app determining when requests can be submitted.

Passenger Restrictions and Safety Rules Apply to Fort Worth Rides

Tesla’s Robotaxi service includes passenger restrictions and onboard controls described in the company’s published guidance.

For Model Y Robotaxi vehicles, passengers ages eight through 17 must travel with an adult. Children younger than eight are not permitted to ride in those vehicles.

Tesla specifies different age requirements for Cybercab vehicles, although the company has not confirmed Cybercab service in Fort Worth.

Passengers must book their own rides rather than requesting transportation for another person. Pets are prohibited, with an exception for service animals accompanying eligible passengers.

During trips, passengers can monitor their route, adjust supported cabin settings and contact customer support through the vehicle’s interface.

Tesla also provides a Pull Over control that allows passengers to request a stop at a location the vehicle identifies as suitable.

Texas already hosts several commercial automated transportation services with different operating models. Separate Dallas-Houston autonomous freight operations use automated trucks to transport commercial shipments rather than passengers.

Commercial automated vehicles in Texas must maintain authorization from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles under requirements enforced since May 28, 2026.

The department provides a public authorization lookup and a process for submitting serious safety concerns involving commercial automated vehicles.

The Texas Department of Public Safety and local law enforcement agencies retain responsibility for traffic enforcement and roadway safety oversight.

Tesla’s initial Fort Worth announcement did not provide city-specific operating performance figures or disclose how many vehicles would serve passengers during the launch period.

Frequently Asked Questions

When did Tesla Robotaxi launch in Fort Worth?

Tesla Robotaxi Fort Worth service began Monday, November 2, 2026, at 6 a.m. Central. The launch made Fort Worth the company’s fourth Texas market after Austin, Dallas and Houston.

Which Fort Worth neighborhoods have Robotaxi service?

Tesla’s service map includes downtown Fort Worth and surrounding areas extending toward Saginaw, White Settlement, Benbrook, Haltom City and Forest Hill. Individual addresses must fall within the boundaries displayed in the Robotaxi app.

How much does a Tesla Robotaxi ride cost in Fort Worth?

Tesla has not published a comprehensive Fort Worth-specific fare schedule. Passengers can review the estimated ride cost and pickup time in the Robotaxi app before confirming a booking.

Can passengers travel from Fort Worth to Dallas by Robotaxi?

Tesla operates separate Robotaxi service areas in Fort Worth and Dallas. The company has not confirmed whether passengers can book continuous trips between the two operating zones.

Texas Today

Deep in the heart of the Lone Star State, with the spirit that makes us proud.